Important Dates

Wednesday, April 13, 2022

Until 4:30 pm (55 Days Before an Election N.J.S.A. 19:23-45)
DEADLINE FOR CHANGE OF PARTY AFFILIATION FORMS

Notice to “INDEPENDENT” voters:  As of January 1, 2006 voters previously declared as “INDEPENDENT” are by law now classified as “UNAFFILIATED”.  An unaffiliated voter may declare their affiliation with a political party by filing a Declaration of Party Affiliation form. They may vote in the Primary Election. An unaffiliated voter may chose instead to declare affiliation with either the Republican or Democrat Party at the polling place on the day of Primary Election.

Who MUST File:

  • You must file a Declaration of Party Affiliation form if you wish to vote in the Primary Election of a political party other than with which you are currently affiliated.

You DO NOT need to file if:

  • You are currently affiliated with the political party in whose Primary you wish to vote.
  • You have never declared a political party and have never previously voted in a Primary Election, (unaffiliated), you may declare your party affiliation at the polls on Election Day. Your choice of party can then be changed only if you complete a Declaration of Party Affiliation form and file it with this office.

Tuesday, June 7, 2022

Primary Election – Polls Open 6am-8pm
All regular April School Elections in Salem County are now held in November with the General Election.

Tuesday, October 18, 2022

Until 9:00 pm (21 days prior to election N.J.S.A 19:31-6)
General Election Registration Deadline*
*Registration Deadline: Date to register by and/or change address. Board of Elections office open till 9pm
All regular April School Elections in Salem County are now held in November with the General Election

Tuesday, October 25, 2022

*General Election Challenger request forms: Deadline for Filing Challenger Appointments
(second Tuesday preceding election N.J.S.A. 19:7-3)
*under current law the Primary Election is held only for the Republican and Democrat parties. N.J.S.A. 19:5-1

November 8, 2022

General Election: Tuesday, November 8, 2022 – Polls Open 6am-8pm

Early Voting Schedule 2022

Early Voting Hours for General Election:

Saturday, October 29: 10am-8pm
Sunday, October 30: 10am-6pm
Monday, October 31: 10am-8pm
Tuesday, November 1: 10am-8pm
Wednesday, November 2: 10am-8pm
Thursday, November 3: 10am-8pm
Friday, November 4: 10am-8pm
Saturday, November 5: 10am-8pm
Sunday, November 6: 10am-6pm

The above dates and times apply to Early Voting Centers only!

General Election
Tuesday, November 8: polls open 6:00 am - 8:00 pm

English English Español Español